Understand How a Texas DWI Conviction Will Affect You

Every DWI arrest is serious. Even a first-offense DWI can carry penalties that will impact your life for years into the future. If you have been recently charged with drinking and driving in the Dallas-Fort Worth area or in Collin County, you need to know what you are facing and what your options are for defense. It is important to speak with an experienced DWI attorney to provide the help you deserve.

At the Shapiro Law Firm in Plano, our criminal defense attorneys have more than 40 years of experience defending people charged with DWIs and DUIs throughout the state of Texas. We can help you understand the potential consequences of your arrest along with the criminal justice process, which can seem daunting, especially to those who have never been in trouble with the law before.

Potential Penalties for a First-Offense DWI Conviction

After a first-offense DWI arrest, you likely have a lot of questions about whether you will have to go to jail, whether you will lose your driver's license and what other penalties you may be facing. If you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher in the state of Texas, you will be facing a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties for a conviction on this offense could include:

The DWI/DUI lawyers at the Shapiro Law Firm will take the time to understand the specific circumstances in your arrest and will build a DUI defense that is tailored to your needs. If you have questions, we make ourselves available to clients 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Contact the Shapiro Law Firm

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Texas, contact us at the Shapiro Law Firm, and learn more about your rights. We will work hard to reduce or eliminate the penalties you are facing. Call our Plano office at 800-554-5247 and schedule a consultation.