If you’re a marijuana user who also participates in social media or reads marijuana publications like High Times, chances are very good that you’ve heard of dabs. These increasingly popular marijuana extracts have been around for years, but now they have become the preferred form of marijuana for many regular users.
There are a number of reasons people cite for the popularity of dabs, also called BHO (butane hash oil), wax, glass, shatter and similar nicknames. People enjoy their stronger potency, allowing them to obtain greater effects with less time spent consuming marijuana. These extracts also make it easy for people to use vaporizer pens in public. Finally, many extracts lack the strong, tell-tale sign associated with natural-state marijuana, making it easier to transport or hide. Unfortunately, people in Texas face serious penalties for possessing or using marijuana extracts.
Texas laws about marijuana extracts are very strict
While possession of small amounts of natural state marijuana would result in misdemeanor charges, any amount of marijuana concentrate can result in felony charges. In fact, these laws also apply to pressed hash, not just solvent-extracted products like BHO.
If you get caught in possession of any amount of a marijuana concentrate or extract, the resulting criminal charge will be a felony. Even a smudge of leftover BHO inside a container could result in a criminal charge.
Any amount under one gram could result in between 180 days and two years in jail, as well as a fine of $10,000. If you have between a full gram and four grams, the jail time involved increases to between two and 10 years. Those caught with between four and 400 grams could face up to 20 years in prison. Possession of more than 400 grams carries a penalty of between 10 years to life in prison, as well as a fine of $50,000.
Your dab rig or vaporizer can bring separate charges
Unlike natural-state marijuana, which people often smoke rolled into joints to avoid carrying any paraphernalia, concentrates usually require special devices for vaporization. This could result with you facing a second criminal charge, just for owning a pipe or a vaporizing pen.
The charges related to possession of paraphernalia are misdemeanor charges which result in a fine of up to $500. You could face separate charges for each item of paraphernalia, from containers and scales to pipes and torches.
Regardless of your reason for considering marijuana dabs, understanding the potential penalties if you get caught in Texas is critical. For most people, the risks far outweigh the benefits associated with this concentrated form of marijuana. Doing dabs in Texas can cost you your freedom and result in a felony criminal record that keeps you out of college, away from great jobs and unable to move on with your life.
If you have been charged keep in mind this important fact: Every criminal charge has defenses. Speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.